The Bujinkan

The Bujinkan is an international martial arts organisation headed by Soke Masaaki Hatsumi in Noda, Japan. Soke inherited nine traditional schools of martial arts from his teacher Toshitsugu Takamatsu. The schools are a mix of Ninja (ninjutsu/ninpo) and Samurai traditions dating back over 700 years that were developed and practiced for combat survival. Due to the nature of training, Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu is not a sport and there are no competitions.

The nine schools (ryu) taught in the Bujinkan are:

  • Togakure Ryu Ninpo
  • Gyokko Ryu Kosshijutsu
  • Shinden Fudo Ryu Daken-taijutsu
  • Kukashinden Ryu Happo Hikenjutsu
  • Takagiyoshin Ryu Ju-taijutsu
  • Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo
  • Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo
  • Gikan Ryu koppojutsu
  • Koto Ryu Koppojutsu

Each of the schools has its own unique history and teachings but taijutsu (unarmed body movement) forms the core of all training in the Bujinkan. When students become competent at taijutsu, falling and rolling then weapon training is introduced. Through the wide range of teaching of the Bujinkan, practitioners should develop valuable skills for self-defence that are still applicable today.